How to remove yourself from an Office 365 group

If you wish to leave a group (like the BCC film processors), there is a simple way that you can do this yourself instead of emailing the entire group.

If you access Outlook through a web browser:

On the left you should see groups>BCC Film Processors, click on the group name. That will open up the group and you can see any messages etc. Once again click on the group name and that will bring up details of the group. You should see three dots … click on those dots. That will open up a drop down menu with leave group as one of the choices. You could also choose to remain a member of the group and deselect follow in inbox.

If you access outlook through your desktop, it’s a very similar process, but looks slightly different.

Thanks to Michelle Varney for these instructions.

Related post: How to schedule with the group calendar
Related post: How to manage (reduce) notifications for groups

Share

Group Notifications

Here’s how to reduce or eliminate notifications from groups (video below)

In your email, scroll down in the left column until you see the list of groups you are a member of.

Choose a group. Then in the next column, just below the Group name, click the three dots …., and then click Settings

This will open a new pane on the right edge where you can choose when or if you get notifications from this group.

Related post: How to schedule with the group calendar
Related post: How to remove yourself from an Office 365 group

Share

Group Calendars

Reserving a time on shared resources

It’s really the same as any other calendar entry.  You go to the calendar, and double click an empty spot to open the meeting dialogue box. 

  1. On the very top line, choose which calendar you are adding to
  2. Put your name and the floor you’re reserving on the next line. 
  3. Make sure there are NO attendees listed unless you need to let a specific person know about the reservation. Do not include the group ever.
  4. Choose the date and time you are reserving
  5. Choose Save at the top, below the calendar name

Related post: How to manage (reduce) notifications for groups
Related post: How to remove yourself from an Office 365 group

Share